

SUSAN M. CHEHARDY CHIEF JUDGE

FREDERICKA H. WICKER
JUDE G. GRAVOIS
MARC E. JOHNSON
STEPHEN J. WINDHORST
JOHN J. MOLAISON, JR.
SCOTT U. SCHLEGEL
TIMOTHY S. MARCEL

JUDGES

Court of Appeal

FIFTH CIRCUIT STATE OF LOUISIANA

101 DERBIGNY STREET (70053)
POST OFFICE BOX 489
GRETNA, LOUISIANA 70054

WWW.FIFTHCIRCUIT.ORG

CURTIS B. PURSELL CLERK OF COURT

SUSAN S. BUCHHOLZ CHIEF DEPUTY CLERK

LINDA M. WISEMAN FIRST DEPUTY CLERK

MELISSA C. LEDET
DIRECTOR OF CENTRAL STAFF

(504) 376-1400 (504) 576-0800 FAX

May 16, 2024

By Order of the Court, effective June 1, 2024, Rule 16 of the Local Rules of the Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal is adopted and provides as follows:

RULE 16: PANELS

In accordance with Louisiana Constitution, Article V, Section 8(A), the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal shall sit in panels of three judges, except as follows:

- **A.** A five-judge panel is convened in accordance with Louisiana Constitution, Article V, Section 8(B).
- **B.** A five-judge panel is convened in cases arising under Chapter 9 of Title 18 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes unless an en banc panel is required by law.
- **C.** A five-judge panel, and, if necessary, an en banc panel, is convened if a majority of the judges sitting in a case cannot concur to render judgment.
- **D.** An en banc panel is convened when precedent of the court is to be abrogated.
- **E.** A panel of more than three judges may be convened in all other cases as the court deems necessary.

#